Super strength can be handy

Traveling the streets of NY, perusing the galleries and checking out the Empire State Building all involve walking. My least favorite thing to do.

And this is an issue for me. Especially since my current walking frame just isn’t cutting it. It’s too light (6kg), the breaks are dodgy and the wheels are too narrow.

When I was visiting my grandmother last week my mother noticed a walking frame in the physio room. It had bigger wheels, stronger material and strong breaks. When the breaks went on nothing could budge it.

I tested the frame out and I felt safe. When I lost my balance there was no way I could topple over. Everything seemed perfect until Mum and I tried to lift it into the car. The thing weighs 12kg! I’m strong but seriously, there is no way I can put it in and take it out of the car six times a day.

Currently I am having a physio and OT assessment at Epworth Hospital. This is to review my current situation and to see whether we can make some improvements to my walking and to my apartment. I could write a whole entry about the miscommunication going on within the different departments, but I don’t think it’s appropriate for me to bad mouth an organisation. Anyway, the physio and I have discussed the walking frame and she was able to find a walking frame that weighs 9kg and has wider wheels. This weight seems more appropriate and manageable.

But this whole saga makes me think. I go to the gym twice a week and I do Pilates twice a week. I have a pretty strong upper body and so lifting a 6kg walking frame is fairly easy for me. However, what about those people who don’t have the strength to lift it? How are they supposed to get around, ie: using stairs, putting it in and out of a car? The physio and I thought about getting a ramp for my car, but that is expensive and a little hard to use.

Anyone reading this post who happens to use a walking frame: how do you manage?

One thought on “Super strength can be handy

  1. As an aside, as a disabled person you are fortunate to have a car. Many are physically sadly unable to drive. In addition, so many disabled people are financially disadvantaged that they cannot buy or run a car.

    While you are in the US, you could discuss the frame issue with the people from the FD foundation. And it’s not just about weight, but also flexibility.

Leave a Reply

