It’s My Time

Eight days to go.

Eight days to go.

If I say it over and over again then maybe I will actually believe it.
Me, Tully Zygier, is hopping on a plane, by herself, and heading off to another country.

I’ve dreamt of doing this over the years, but I’ve never had the balls to do it. I think I had some living to do before I could take the step.

I’d hear stories from my peers. Trips to Israel after year 12; exchange students off to Europe for a semester; backpacking through India. I would look at them with envy when they told me their stories.

I never thought it would be my time and I was resigned to that fact.

Don’t think I’m feeling sorry for myself. That’s not what’s going on here. I have just felt that due to my illness I was always going to miss out on things – experiences. And maybe this feeling is what held me back from living.

So something must have happened that has changed my mentality. Answers pop into my head, but these are personal issues that I don’t want to share with the public. I don’t have one specific answer, and don’t expect one any time soon. Just know that I have changed this year and this is my time to live.

I hope you enjoy following my ride because I sure plan on enjoying it.

Eight days to go.

One thought on “It’s My Time

Leave a Reply

