Nothing ventured, nothing gained.

Being on my own in an unfamiliar environment scares me. I don’t like not knowing where I am and how I am going to get back home. I like having a plan and being in control. This morning I decided to go to the American Museum of Natural History to check out the Planetarium. I got a taxi from the hotel with the help of the doorman and he put the walker in the boot of the cab. The taxi driver dropped me off at the musem at the front entrance which had no wheelchair access. I was stuck. I yelled up at the doorman who pointed me to the other entrance around the corner. Of course it wasn’t far, but it was hot and I was flustered. The doorman could have offered to help me up the stairs or guided me better.

While I didn’t see the whole museum, I did see Journey to the Stars which is narrated by Whoopi Goldberg who explaines the history of the stars. The room is in the shape of a circle and the people look up to the ceiling and it features “extraordinary images from telescopes on the ground and in space and stunning, never-before-seen visualizations of physics-based simulations, the dazzling new Journey to the Stars launches visitors through space and time to experience the life and death of the stars in our night sky, including our own nurturing Sun.”

It was quite a spectacle and I couldn’t help it – my jaw dropped a number of times. To be able to see the stars to clearly and to watch them explode was just amazing!

A guy behind me fell asleep and started snoring which reminded me of a story a family friend told me where she fell asleep during the presentation. There was no chance I was going to miss a minute of it.

When I arrived at the museum I arranged for a car to pick me up and drop me off at the foundation. While it does cost a fair amount, it was good that I did it because it is so hot today and for me to walk in the heat and hail a car is too much. Especially since I want to store my energy for tonight when I see the Addams Family musical!

Last night I went to Carnegie Deli with Sonia, her boyfriend and her friend. People kept telling me I had to go there and I was determined to. The walls are covered with photos of famous people who have visited the deli, all of which are signed. The menu is huge and contains dishes such as potato latkas, matza bri, chicken soup, roast chicken and the biggest sandwiches I have ever seen. Someone ordered the sandwich and it looked amazing and I tried the pastrami. I wasn’t mad about it and the sandwich only contained the meat. I ordered chicken soup with kreplach and honestly, Mum’s chicken soup is better and the kreplach we get in Melbourne are tastier. We did share a piece of cheese cake and that was very, very good!

I had an early night last night and went back to the hotel straight after dinner. While I was lying in bed I discovered a show called the Real Desperate Houswives of New York. It was so funny to watch these well off 30-40 something year olds bitch about each other behind their backs and then make up with a kiss on both cheeks. It was also cool to be able to recognize places.

On Wednesday night Sonia took me to Central Park which is something I had wanted to do. I didn’t walk far into the park, but I walked far around the park to find an accessable entrance. I am so shocked at how big it is. And it is beautiful. You can sit in the park and not hear anything from the streets. We also checked out the Strand book shop kiosk which is on the outside of the park. I was finally able to get Dad a bookmark! We then had dinner at a diner where I had my first taste of chicken soup in New York. You can see a photo of it in my last batch. It was flurescent yellow and the matza balls were so big. The soup tasted like canned soup but the matza balls were nice and fluffly.

Tuesday night I moved uptown to a different, and nicer, hotel. I think I already mentioned this in my last entry. Did I mention that I saw Date Night with Deborah? How can you go wrong with Steve Carel, Tina Fey and Mark Wahlberg without a shirt on? The jokes were hilarious and the support cast was brilliant – Ray Liotta, Mark Wahlberg and James Franco.

Last night I reached a point in my trip where I am ready to go home. I don’t really miss anyone, although I really do want to see my family and I just want to stop living out of a suitcase. Traveling is exhausting and I feel like I have to be “on” all the time, especially as I am meeting new people every day and I want to give a good impression. I will admit that I am impressed with my ability to interact well with all these people. I am quite a shy person and it takes me a while to open up to people. I have made new friends and that is quite an achievement!

Now it’s time for me to head off for dinner and the theatre!

Leave a Reply

