It’s the final countdown!

Today is my last full day in New York City and so I finally went shopping and got me some bags. Well, when I say me, I really mean for my friends and family. One bag is for me, the other three are for everyone else.

I thought I should do a final rundown of what I have been doing because I know I haven’t shared my Addams Family experience with you all. Or my Magnolia Bakery experience either.

At the beginning of last week I decided that I wanted to see one last show, but I didn’t know which one. When I heard that Nathan Lane was starring in the Addams Family, I knew that I had to see it. The musical is fluff really. If anyone has seen the tv series, you would know how silly it was and the musical is just the same, although I think there is a thin moral line about accepting people for who they are.

The audience clicked their fingers when the theme song played and we all squealed when the hand made its first appearance. Once again, the backdrops were amazing and the songs were catchy.

Before Kaitlin and I went to the theatre, we went for dinner to a bar and we sat by the window and people watched. David Bowie and Queen’s song “Under Pressure” was playing, sirens were going off in the distance and people were rushing to make it to the subway. I was lost in this world for a moment and I didn’t want to leave. It was an amazing feeling to be a part of this vibrant, buzzing city.

The next day was extremely hot and of course that was the day I had chosen to go to Rockefeller Centre and Top of the Rock. Sonia and I went up to the 67th floor and saw the most spectactular view of the city. We couldn’t get over the enormity of Central Park nor the beauty of the island.

We then went to the NBC gift store and while there was so much stuff, nothing really grabbed my attention. I thought of one friend in particular and I couldnt’t remember whether the liked the Office and it seemed silly to buy the board game for someone who may not even like the show.

In the afternoon, Kaitlin and I finally made our way to Magnolia Bakery!!!! This place has been so hyped up and rightly so. The cupcakes are so cute and very fluffly inside. They also make amazing looking pies, which I was tempted to buy but I couldn’t justify spending the money as I had no need for it and no place to store it. I noticed an attractive black woman putting icing on a velvet cake and pointed her out to Kaitlin who pointed out to me that it actually was a man. There is a photo of this person in one of the batches, why don’t you try and guess whether the person is a he or a she.

We walked to Central Park and enjoyed our cupcakes while we people watched. I will never get over people watching. We saw an oldish man, I’d say in his 60s, with a younger woman. Bother were wearing long sleeved tops and she was wearing thick black tights. It was 30 degrees at that point and they didn’t seem to be religious. He was on the telephone and he was yelling to his father to get out of bed and stop being so lazy. If this guy was in his 60s, his father must have been at least in his 80s. I felt like I was watching a Woody Allen. He got so worked up and kept pushing his father to get out of bed. From what I could hear it sounded like the father was depressed or simply tired.

At this point, my days have become a blur and all I can remember is last night where I saw Get Him to the Greek with Kaitlin and Deborah. This movie wss so over the top and rude and hilarious that I nearly wet my pants. They must have done so much adlib because the conversation is so so quick and sharp that it couldn’t all be part of the script. I don’t think Deborah liked it that much but Kait and I couldn’t stop laughing.

This was also the last time I will see Kait. It started off as someone helping me out with getting around the city but I believe it has ended as a friendship and I got a little sad when we said goodbye. Hopefully we will stay in touch, and you never know, I may see her again next year.

Early this morning, I met someone and we went shopping. Later I will be seeing Sonia to say goodbye and tonight I am going out for dinner with my cousins. Yes, I am pretty busy today, but it is my last day and I should make the most of it.

So, this is my last entry in New York.

Thank you everyone for reading my blog. It’s been an awesome ride and hopefully you found it just as fun as I did.

3 thoughts on “It’s the final countdown!

  1. Tul,

    I have read your pages of adventure, and to me it sounds like a brilliant ride.
    You must be utterly exhausted, Fly safe we look forward to seeing our Intrepid Traveller in the flesh.

    Rom oxox

  2. what an amazing journey tully. it is only when you step out of your comfort zone can you really see who you are. and tully you must be very proud of yourself. you do deserve a well earned rest from the highs and lows that your ambitious dream has taken you on.

  3. Welcome Home Tully!
    Now you can lie on your own bed and think over all the wonderful things you have achieved.
    Congratulations!!!!
    Hope
    i will hear from you when you are back at work.
    Anne

Leave a Reply

