Me, Myself and I

Someone mentioned to me recently that I shouldn’t define myself by my disability. And I know that they were right. Indeed there is much more to me than that.

Some of you may not know that I like to cook. I’m not amazing, but I’m pretty good. I love to make a hearty bolognaise, or a juicy rack of lamb with lots of roast vegetables. I love to experiment with my recipes and rarely follow one. I like making meals for friends because I like to see the pleasure in their faces as they eat.

Not only do I like to cook, but I like to eat out at different restaurants. I like to take in the beauty of the presentation of the dish and combine the flavours with a good glass of wine. I even take photos of some meals and share the beauty with others.

I also like going to the movies and eating junk food. I just saw the Social Network and I was fascinated by how a couple of twenty-year olds were able to create a billion dollar business from their dorm rooms. When I see movies, I like to discuss them after and do some research if the movie is based on a true story. Did you know that the co-founder of Facebook now lives in Singapore and is worth billions dollars?

Also I am a sucker for crime novels. Lee Childs may not be a great author, but he has created one hell of a character – Jack Reacher. This guy Jack seems to know everything and is always able to save the day. I get so engrossed in these novels I forget that there is a real wotld out there.

Apart from cooking, I have a few more creative outlets.

For the past year or so I have been learning how to oil paint. At first I joined just so I could meet some new people, yet over times I found that I have the potential to develop my painting. I may still have a way to go but according to my teacher I am good enough to enter my paintings into competitions.

Another creative outlet is my writing. Since I started writing this blog I have found that I enjoy writing and want to do more of it. People have found my writing “funny”, “witty”, “informative” and “insightful”. This new found talent has made me think that maybe, just maybe, there’s potential for a book somewhere down the line.

Lastly, I have always wanted to be on the radio, but never had the nerve to act on it. This year I decided to take the plunge and as of this week I will be on 3CR every second month. Check me out on 855 AM at 6pm on Wednesday 17th November on a program called the Boldness.

So, if you ned a recommendation for a movie, or need an idea for a dinner party, don’t be afraid to drop me a line and maybe I can help you out.

Before I sign off, I should tell you that it’s my birthday this Thursday and if you wish to acknowledge it (wink, wink), maybe consider donating money to the Familial Dysautonomia foundation. Please go to: http://www.familialdysautonomia.org/

 

Leave a Reply

