A work in progress

One of my roles at Yooralla is being the coordinator of the Peer Support Program. This involves recruiting clients and providing them with training in advocacy and communication skills. Once they have completed the training I then pair them up with a client who feels they would benefit from the support of someone who understands what it’s like to have a disability.

Anyway, I wanted to make the program bigger. I wanted to provide our clients with more support and also information. With the help of a friend, we created a website. This website has a forum where our clients can chat about different topics – from disability to sexuality to football.

The site will also have a list of disability services within Melbourne. So many Government websites are so hard to read and understand and so I wanted to create a resouce that is user friendly.

There’s also an events page as well as a database on different peer support programs within Victoria. I think this site could be big!

As the title states, it’s still a work in progress, but here’s a sneak peek.

http://www.peersupportnetwork.org.au/

The site was launched on Tuesday. A number of clients came as well as the acting CEO of Yooralla. For someone who doesn’t like public speaking, I think I did a pretty good job. Just don’t ask me what I said because I can’t remember!

If you have some feedback on the site, please leave me a message.

Leave a Reply

