Dear Mum…

I find it funny how people think this is quite a personal and revealing blog. Yes, I have shared information about my condition. Yes, I have shared my frustrations about my condition and I have even shared my fears and trepidations. However, there is a part of my life that I haven’t shared out of respect to my family. It is not my right for me to share personal information about my family and I will continue to keep that part separate. But, as it was Mother’s Day on Sunday, I have been thinking about my Mum a fair bit.

Growing up with a chronic illness was pretty tough. I felt limited in what I could do and sometimes I was too scared to challenge myself. For a while I did go to school camps along with youth movement camps but eventually I couldn’t see the point in going because there wasn’t much I could do.

When it came to socializing I found it hard clicking with most of the kids in my class, especially during primary school and early high school. I had friends and a couple of really close friends, but for some reason I avoided making plans with them on the weekend.

So, I guess you can gather that I spent a lot of time at home. Books became my best friends – Baby Sitters Club, John Marsden books and there was one book, Dr Chill, that I read over and over and over again because it was about kids with super powers who were a little weird. I was also an avid TV watcher (and still am, really) and was completely addicted to Degrassi, The Goodies and Monkey Magic.

My Mum and Dad tried to urge me to get out more, to make an effort with calling up kids in my class, and I listened to them for a while, but Monkey Magic kept calling me back. Anyway, many weekends I would be with Mum and her friends, listening to them chatter away, and so I became quite attached to Mum and fond of her friends. I guess that’s why I found it easier talking to older people rather than my peers.

Mum used to take me out for meals with her friends and so that’s how I got into food. Also, whenever I went to a doctors appointment she would either buy me donuts or take me to Lygon st for lunch. When my love for food developed, I would watch Mum cook and eventually I helped her with making dinner and we would talk food together while doing this. Throughout these experiences and years Mum became my best friend.

Of course I grew up and made new friends and started studying at uni and moved onto work and so Mum and I started to spend less time together and of course that’s what parents wants. They want their child to be independent and have a life of their own. And of course I enjoyed discovering new people and things. But we have our rituals, spending a morning together once a week, having dinner with Mum and Dad twice a week and spending a night there as well.

And I have to (and love to) admit that she is still my best friend.

5 thoughts on “Dear Mum…

  1. monkey magic is one of my favourite tv shows as well. have u ever seen puff n stuff- it is also great.
    i love reading you blogs Tully.
    they are a breathe of fresh air.
    i love the way you share your life with us in a sincere and inclusive way.
    thank you

    • I haven’t seen puff n stuff, I will have to find it.
      Thank you so much for still reading my blog. It means so much to me.
      PS. Could I have your recipe for your cheese cake? Everybody loves it and I would like to recreate it.

      • you must try and get puff n stuff. you will laugh yourself silly. occasionally i have seen it on foxtel and if i come across it again i will let you know.
        Tully, thank YOU for the blogs. love reading them, just keep them coming.
        as far as the recipe goes- it was given to me by a friend and i had to promise never to pass it on. any other recipes that i have you are most welcome to but i cannot break a promise. having said that a cheese cake will be delivered when louise returns home. so keep a big spoon.

  2. Tully,
    My mother is my best friend also. I think most mothers are special people and that the relationship between mother and child is the primary one and remains the most important of all. You are fortunate to have this experience and we are enriched by your ability to enunciate it so clearly.

Leave a Reply

