150 Buckets on the Wall

Last year I made the decision to travel overseas by myself. I made it into this big monumental thing because it was…to me. To go overseas, without the support of family or friends, with my walking frame seemed unachievable and I wanted to prove to myself and others that I could do it.

I guess it was the one and only thing on my bucket list. Aim high and reach for the stars. So maybe it’s time to add some new things onto the list.

But that’s not why I’m writing this  very short entry. It’s because I met someone on Monday who has his own bucket list. In 2003 Mark was overseas when he tripped over something and ended up as a quadraplegic. Doctors are unsure whether the fall caused the end result or his previously undiagnosed neurological condition was the cause.

Anyway, at the beginning of this year he decided to put together a bucket list that was achievable. This was due to the fact that over the years people kept calling him inspirational but to him, he was just living his life. So, by completing this bucket list he believes people will have a legitimate reason to call him inspirational.

On Sunday he will be competing in The Age’s Run Melbourne – http://runmelbourne.everydayhero.com.au/event/2011runmelbourne – an item on his bucket list.

To find out more about what he wants to cross off his list, and if you want to help out, go to:

http://buckets150.blogspot.com/search?updated-max=2011-06-29T06%3A25%3A00-07%3A00&max-results=1

Frankly, I’m inspired to add to my bucket list. Any ideas?

Leave a Reply

