let’s bring in the year with a BANG!

 

ImageFor the last week and a half I have been trying to write an entry about my resolutions for 2012, but something has been holding me back. It could be because I am on holidays and I am lacking motivation. I am enjoying sleeping in – well sleeping in until 9:30ish and reading crime novels by George Pelecanos and Lee Child. Also, I’ve seen a couple of fabulous movies – Albert Nobbs and The Iron Lady. Or it could be because I am a little lost as to what I want to achieve in the New Year. Last year I achieved so much and left a few of those achievements under-developed. 2012 is the year to tidy things up and then attempt some new challenges.

So I think that means I have to do a run down of the year 2011 and consider where I want to head in 2012. Because you have been reading my blog over the last year and a half you may find this a tad boring, so if you wish to skip this entry I completely understand.

  1. Writing. In 2011 I decided to branch out with my writing and so I submitted some of my posts to a few online publications. The ABC website Ramp Up published one of my pieces. Go to http://www.abc.net.au/rampup/ and if you search my name you may still find my piece. The Department of Human Services runs a website titled Divine which is all about disability written by people who have a disability. They published a number of my entries and when they started looking for a new group of journalists for 2012, I applied for a position. I was happy to find out about a month ago that I have been offered a contract. Who would have thought that I would become a paid journalist?
  2. Leadership. Part of my work is to work with people who have a disability and help them develop their communication skills and advocacy skills. With my co-worker we run a course for five weeks and eventually the participants pass on their training to others. The thing is that I can’t help but think I need to develop my skills so that I have more to pass on to the participants. With this in mind I applied for a twelve-month leadership course where we are assigned a mentor in our area of interest and hopefully grow through this.
  3. Radio. Mid last year I got it in my head that I could take on my own show on 3CR. I thought that I could talk about my love of food and movies but in the end I realised that a monthly hourly show was too big a task for one person and I was biting off way more than I could chew. So I am sticking with the Boldness for 2012 but I need to make more of an effort for my co-hosts and come up with topics that are current, relevant and political in the world of disability. This means that I need to keep up to date with the National Disability Insurance Scheme and other disability issues.

Of course there are all the other predictable resolutions, such as health, relationships and employment, but I want to keep the specifics to myself and if I ever do achieve those resolutions I may inform you of them.

It is important that I make the most of 2012 and enjoy it as much as I can. I hope that you all have a great, happy, successful year and I would love for you to share your resolutions with me. Feel free to leave a message on here or email me at tzygier@gmail.com. Let’s work through these resolutions together.

Happy New Year!

One thought on “let’s bring in the year with a BANG!

  1. Hi Tully,
    wishing you and your readers a happy 2012

    Your blog has been a highlight. It’s an opportunity to understand and learn
    about your world. You’re generous in letting us “in” and giving us insights and motivation.

    Your resolutions are inspiring to think about and put work into
    what 2012 can bring if we reflect on what we could do this year.

    I recently received an email New Year greeting from an old friend who said “may the New Year bring everything you need and a good portion of what you want”. Sharing it with others it’s been surprising to see how many agreed those words described their wishes accurately.

    Here’s a little resolution however seems to be more necessary than ever. During 2011 the experiment was to keep the mobile on silent when spending time with others. It worked. Listening to friends unreservedly is rare these days. The aim is to do the same in 2012.

    Like you the personal goals are just that, personal. Yet when we discuss our resolutions with close friends again it’s surprising how many are similar.

    Ah, the collective unconscious at work again.

    Enjoy 2012!

Leave a Reply

