Yes, I need help…sometimes

When I was young, probably around 10, I started drinking coffee. Coffee at 10? Madness! But after being diagnosed with FD Mum was learning about all the ways to treat the condition. As I have low blood, the doctors were saying that caffeine can increase my blood pressure.

Screw baby cinnos, Mum hooked me up with cafe lates.

And of course I got addicted. I don’t think it ever got to the point that I would shake when I didn’t have my morning coffee. It’s just that whenever there was a chance to have one I would.

Of course we found out a couple of years later that coffee doesn’t help and in fact it’s bad for me, but it was too late by then.

Over the last couple of years I have found a few places where the coffee is great and they have good snacky foods.

There’s the waffle place around the corner from work where you can get a waffle and coffee for $5.

Then there’s the cupcake shop two stores down where you can get a mini cupcake and coffee for $4.50.

The thing about these two places is that they are near my office and access is easy. I can get to them any time.

But that’s only two days of the week and the rest of the time I am in my car going to appointments, visiting people, etc. And it’s bloody tiring. Especially after gym on Tuesday mornings and after physio on Friday mornings.

I need my coffee but I don’t have the energy to get out of the car, pull Scarlet out of the car and walk to grab a take away coffee and a snack. It’s just too much of a hassle for such a small task.

I’ve tried the coffee at McDonald’s but it’s terrible. I haven’t found any other drive through cafes near where I live.

So Mum suggested that I ask for help. Well, the stubborn side of me was determined not to ask for help. However, I was having a hard day a few months ago and the thought of getting out of my car made me sick. Of course I had to but this time I got the courage to ask the manager for her card so that next time I could call them and someone could bring my coffee out for me.

She was more than happy to help out and was glad to give me the number. The next time I drove there it was raining and I did it. I asked for help. And they listened and brought out my coffee and biscuit out to me.

Boring story really because I never did it again. Until last week. Last week I had a gym session on one side of Melbourne and I had to get to the other side of Melbourne in an hour. I had to do it and I had to have something because I was feeling weak and needed to boost my energy. I needed to consume something but I was too frustrated to get out of the car and it was too hard to find parking.

I parked illegally and called them up. Ten minutes she ran out of the café carrying the warm, frothy coffee and an Anzac cookie. I can’t remember what she said exactly but she said something along the lines of if she can do one good deed that day she was happy to do it.

And you know what? Sometimes you’ve just got to stop being stubborn and let people help you for a change.

2 thoughts on “Yes, I need help…sometimes

  1. Hi Tully,
    I hope you realize that you can always get a delivery of coffee to your car in the car-park behind The Coffee Company as well as a slice, chocolate or piece of cake… and the price will be right. Give us a try.
    Love,
    MD

  2. The filp side of being a generous giver is to be a gracious receiver. Allowing people the opportunity to be generous to you is their pleasure, as you have found out.

Leave a Reply

