the kindness of strangers

A few weeks ago on a Monday evening I was driving home from my uncles house after we’d just had yet another one of his fabulous feasts.

Most likely I was listening to fox fm’s top 30 and thinking about my day at work. When I reached the start of my street Clive (my car) stopped. Not exactly stopped because on the radio One Direction was telling me how I had that one thing.

I panicked and didn’t think to turn the car off. Instead I stepped on the brake and let Clive roll down the hill and parked him outside my house.

The following day I booked Clive in for a service and continued driving him. However, a week later when I was driving home from physio, I stopped at a red light on Williams rd right near Toorak rd. When I went to put my foot on the accelerator nothing happened.

Clive was dead in his tracks and my heart was about to explode.

I knew enough to put my hazard lights on and I did this as I fumbled for my phone. While I did this no one stopped to help. They just drove on before I had the chance to call RACV I saw a police car pull up behind me.

Panic attack averted.

This policeman waited patiently as I tried to restart my car. My heart pounded as I turned the key and we both smiled when the engine started.

He kindly agreed to my request for him to follow me as I parked my car. I waved him off as my heart melted – pity he wasn’t 15 years younger and had more hair. Little did I know then that I was going to meet three other men just as kind as him.

After that incident I knew it was time to get Clive fixed and so I had to face a fear and drive my Mums car, Maude (my name not Mums). Maude is a newer and nicer version of Claude and do I didnt want to use her. However I did and we got on well.

Anyway, when I went to pick up Clive I was happy to pay that hefty cheque as it meant Maude could be put back in the garage. I drove off, with nearly no petrol, stopped at a red light and couldn’t start again.

#?~$!

Stuck at Malvern and Tooronga rds during peak hour.

At least I knew where my hazard lights were and thankfully I was right outside the mechanics. Unfortunately they had closed for the day and I was left to my own devices.

May I remind you that it was peak hour traffic on Malvern rd.

Suddenly out of nowhere three men showed up and pushed my car down a nearby side st. They offered to help out of the kindness of their hearts. Either that or they were annoyed with me for stopping the traffic.

One man happened to know the manager at the mechanics and left him a message and another man offered to follow me home – just in case. When we got there he attempted to look at the engine but was unable to fix it.

It would have been easy for me to have had a panic attack each time the car stopped but I held myself together and showed myself that I’m pretty good in a crisis. Plus, I may even be able to rely on the kindness of strangers!

Note – Clive has now been fixed, however, I did get a flat tire last week and so the drama continues. I’ll keep you posted!

2 thoughts on “the kindness of strangers

  1. great post tul.
    i’ve also been having some troubles with my crv. maybe they are getting too old? i think we have the same model. spent last week with some nice racv men, taxi drivers and repco salesmen. it makes it all a bit better when people are friendly and helpful hey.
    x

Leave a Reply

