Starting the year off with a BANG!

happy-new-year--2013

At the beginning of each year I think about what resolutions I want to make and whether they are achievable or not. Of course I could come up with some fantastical ones, such as climbing Mount Everest (could you really see me dragging Scarlet up there?) or becoming a vegan (sorry, I like my meat and I love my leather jacket). We all could, but what would be the good in that? It’s important to come up with resolutions that a: I want to achieve and b: are achievable.

I have to be honest with you all. I haven’t been that motivated this week and I really would enjoy another week of sleeping in and reading another Janet Evanovich book. I only just discovered her books and really, they are pretty trashy but oh so addictive.

It could be that 2012 was such a big year for me and I achieved so much – became a consultant, travelled overseas, became a journalist for an online magazine – that I can’t come up with anything that could top those things. Also, I am pretty tired from it all and I need to re-boot for the New Year.

Whatever the reason may be, nothing really comes to mind except for one thing: finding a place to live. Wait, I’m not homeless, far from it, but I have been looking for a place that I can call my own.

The search went on for over a year. Many apartments had what I needed but there was always something wrong. Two steps at the entrance, no parking space near the apartment, location too far from a family member or friend. And when I did find something, it just didn’t work out for one reason or another. But yes, the main issue was access, which is something that is of huge importance.

So I gave up on looking for an apartment and decided to look at developments in the area close to my current residence.

For years I always dreamt about living in a cottage or an old style apartment where I would drink cups of tea, eat short bread biscuits and write novels. Sounds wonderful, but then, on the other hand, I have always liked the idea of living in something totally modern in a very hip area. I would have my local cafe where i would buy my coffee and wander back to the apartment where i would play words with friends as I sat on my balcony. It seems that the new has trumped the old and by the end of the year I should be – hopefully – living in my brand spanking new apartment.

Before this happens there’s a lot to think about and do. As I am buying into a development, there is a particular style that the developer and architect have decided on. They have also come up with a couple of colour schemes for the interior of the apartments and so I will be choosing one of those.

As a person with a degenerative condition and a disability I have to think about my current situation and what could happen in the future. Together with the builder we have gotten rid of the step to get into the shower and there will be an attached seat to a shower wall that I can pull down when needed.

Of course there’s a lot more to do but I shan’t bore you with it all now. You will definitely reading a lot more about this New Year resolution.

Happy New Year everyone!

4 thoughts on “Starting the year off with a BANG!

  1. Sounds like you have another big and exciting year ahead. And all without making any resolutions. Wishing you smooth sailing this year Tully and would love an invite for a cuppa tea when you move into your new home.

  2. Sounds like you have another big and exciting year ahead. And all without making any resolutions. Wishing you smooth sailing this year Tully and would love an invite for a cuppa tea when you move into your new home.

Leave a Reply

