A reason to smile

I have been neglecting my beloved blog but I believe I have good reason for doing so.

2013 has started with a bang and while there have been a lot of stress overall it has been pretty damn exciting and positive.

The most amazing thing that has happened so far is that my health has been great and while I have bored you before and told you what I have been doing, I can’t help but want to share (and gloat) about it some more.

For the first half of last year I was going to the gym twice a week and attending physio once a week where I would workout on the vibroplate for 45 minutes.

My workout schedule changed around August last year. No longer was I going to the gym twice a week or spending 45 minutes on the vibroplate but I switched. Instead I was doing the vibroplate twice a week, going to the gym once a week and then in October I started seeing a physio once a week.

From what I recall I have shared this with you already and I told you how the physio had me standing on one leg while the other leg was hanging out elsewhere in the air.

Since sharing that story I have been using the wobble board (slap me if I shared this with you as well).

At first I wasn’t able to stand on it without falling off straight away. Then my trainer told me to focus on something in the distance, find my core and breath.

And whammo!

Suddenly I was perfectly balanced. Even though I had to hold on to a chair in front of me, I was holding onto it lightly and eventually I was standing on one leg and one of my hands was holding on to the trainer’s hand.

Now I can stand on the wobble board and close my eyes for short stints.

At the start of last year I never dreamt that I would be able to balance on a wobble board with my eyes closed, let alone even stand on it without freaking out.

At the start of last year I was even thinking that there was no way that I could improve. I think I was feeling sorry for myself and wanted to give up.

But now things are different. I went to see one of my doctors a couple of weeks ago and I told him what I was doing: the gym, physio, vibro, and yadda yadda yadda. When I finished my never-ending list, my doctor leaned back in his chair and said: “whatever you are doing, keep it up, because I can see an improvement”.

My condition may never be cured but I can improve.

Wow.

I never thought that I would hear those words.

You know what?

I can live with the stress.

All I need is a sentence like that and all is good in the world.

(Short but sweet post, but sometimes those are the best!)

2 thoughts on “A reason to smile

Leave a Reply

