I think I can, I think I can

I am so lucky to have this blog. It’s my own space where I can share my thoughts and get good advice for free! Who needs a therapist when I have a blog?!

Also, I can write about things I have written about before with a different slant and you will probably still enjoy it and give me new advice!

Thanks in advance.

A while ago someone told me that my blog was too positive. I needed to show the nitty gritty as to what it’s like to live with a disability. That really upset me as that positivity was what kept me going. if I didn’t stay positive I wouldn’t be where I am today.

However, I am going to be a bit negative in this entry because I’m feeling a little down at the moment.

My condition is degenerative. I can get worse over time. It can happen over such a long period of time that I can pretend its not going to get worse and that can be a problem.

I think when one has a chronic illness they have to be diligent at looking afters ones health. Of course there are times when you can take breaks from certain things – physio, doctors appointments (because they never have anything new to say) – but there are some things you just can’t stop doing.

So, I go to the gym regularly. No, I’m not a gym junkie and sure I like the look of my muscles but it’s not something I’m obsessed with. I do it because it helps me maintain my mobility. If I didn’t stay active, Scarlet would be out the window and replaced with a scooter.

Week in, week out, I exercise. While I enjoy it and am very proud of myself, it ‘s tiring. It’s hard doing heel raises when I have tight calves and it’s nearly impossible to balance on one leg on a wobble board.

And the frustrating thing is that even though I work so hard to stop myself from getting worse, my foot still drags when I get tired. It scares me and I want to give up.

I can’t give up and I won’t because that’s not me but I do waver a bit from time to time.

I’m not really asking you all for advice. Really, I’m just looking for motivation to keep on going

2 thoughts on “I think I can, I think I can

  1. Tully – you have a built in motivation package that will continue taking you to amazing destinations. You may doubt but darlin’ there is no stopping your own unique vigor.

Leave a Reply

