Enjoy the moment

I have gone through some major events this year and while to you they probably won’t seem that major, I guess it all relates to perspective. Walking far distance is a major event. Talking to someone I have a crush on is a major event. Writing a blog entry about my personal struggles is a major event. Exposing myself to the world is a major event.

Buying an apartment is a major event.

Ok, that’s a major event for anyone. I will give you that.

But what I am trying to get at is that small things can be big events and moments.

That’s always been the case for me. I think it goes back to how hard some things have been for me due to my chronic illness. Because it takes me double the time it takes you to complete something, I need to get cheap thrills to keep me going. If I didn’t get excited by walking to my car from work, gee it would be a long and frustrating day.

Even as I sit here in the car, listening to my favourite song, writing this entry as I look at the beach I am on a high and feeling proud of myself.

Make the most of those moments because if you don’t then life would be meaningless.

Anyway, I had one of this moments recently when one of our marketing people sent me an email inviting me to a two day workshop to develop something with a group of co-workers and managers. This lovely woman said that she had been told that I would be a good person to have at the workshop.

I’ve never really thought of myself as that intelligent or that creative either. I never really thought I had that much to offer. I do know that I like to help people and I like to make people happy, but that’s it really. So when I was asked to attend the workshop I was really flattered and excited.

I was going to spend two days with people I admire and aspire to be like them in the future.

We spent two days brainstorming and I spent most of the time listening to everyone and learning some amazing things. I knew that it was an important turning point, for me, and I wanted to make the most of it.

Of course I was nervous about saying something. I wanted to look good and I wanted people to think I knew what I was talking about. Whenever I want to say something in front of a group of people I freeze and my voice cracks when I finally open my mouth.

However I took the plunge.

I shared my thoughts and ideas.

It felt amazing to put myself out there and it was a moment that I won’t forget for a while.

5 thoughts on “Enjoy the moment

  1. Tully,
    Great blog and one that we can all relate to.
    Appreciation of those little things helps make sense of all the big things.
    It must be really close to the time that you move into your apartment- so excited for you.
    Love Fay

  2. Tully there is 2 of you, what you see of yourself and what others see, stick to yourself, its permanent the other changes with the crowd you mix with !

    cheers
    Kevin Boyce.

  3. Tully, it was great to hear your contributions in the workshop. They were truly valued. Thank you for participating, sharing your ideas and helping us make the most of it.

Leave a Reply

