Parking ain’t easy

My office is situated on the cusp of the city. Right near Flinders street station but not too far into the city that it takes me ages to drive home at the end of the day.

Where my office is I am right near some fabulous bars, cafés, restaurants, shoe shops and clothes shops.

There is one negative side to working in the city and it’s the parking. Of course there are plenty of parking lots for me to choose from. However I bet you can’t even imagine the cost of parking in them. It is extremely expensive and imagine spending that kind of money three times a week.

If you get to the parking lot before 8:30am there are early bird fees. Sometimes though I can’t get there that early due to feeling tired or running late.

One other thing: none of the parking lots are close to my office. Well, they are close enough for able bodied people but too far for me and I end up quite worn out.

So when I first started working at Yooralla I knew that I was going to have to do something.

Through one of my networks I found out that people with disabilities either studying, volunteering or working within the City of Melbourne were able to apply for a special permit. Of course they would have to have a Victorian Disabled Persons Parking Permit to apply. Thanks to my Dad I’ve had mine since I was 16 so that wasn’t an issue.

With the Disabled City Access Permit people are able to park in 15, 30 minute or 2 hour spots all day or until they become a clearway.

Luckily there are a number of these spots near my office. Usually I can get a spot on Flinders lane or Elisabeth street. No long distance walking involved!

However, sometimes it’s busy in the city. Ok, busier than the average work day and those few spots are taken.

When the spaces are taken that leaves a few two hour disabled spots and of course I’m always rushing to get to work so I end up parking in one of those steps.

Needless to say, I have received a parking ticket or two and of course that frustrates me but what can I do?

Maybe it’s time for me to advocate for myself!

Leave a Reply

