Time for a Change

I’ve been quiet for the last four months. Sure I posted a couple of times but they were mainly referring to other articles or R U Ok? Day.

Why have I been quiet? Well, I decided to tackle a new career path in marketing. I had been in the same role for over five years. While I loved my work I was beginning to feel a little stale and I felt like a change.

I came to a realization that my writing had evolved from just blog writing. I was writing for online publications and my fortnightly column. I was branching out and I thought I would be able to take on marketing.

But marketing is more than writing short pieces and coming up with slogans. It’s about brand awareness and following style guidelines so that every promotional material is correct and looks professional. It’s about promoting services in an engaging way without being too corporate or wishywashy. It’s about ensuring that the organisation is connected and working on the same page.

And a whole lot more.

Don’t get me wrong. I loved it. I loved learning about social media engagement. I loved interviewing customers and staff. I even loved the admin side of it.

However marketing works on a whole other level to social work and the pace is fast.

After three months of trying to keep up I realised that I just couldn’t do it. I realised if I tried to keep up that I would burn out.

Burning out isn’t healthy for anyone, especially for someone with a chronic illness. It can impact my appetite, my sleep and my body – especially my body.

So I made a very brave move – I quit my job. Of course it was scary and of course I was worried about facing the unknown. However, I made the decision and I’m proud of myself.

After five years at the same organisation it is time for me to take on a new challenge. Luckily I am good at networking and good at reaching out. Thanks to these networks, as of tomorrow I will be starting a new adventure.

Wish me luck!!

5 thoughts on “Time for a Change

  1. I do not believe in luck. To me it is asking for something outside your personal control or depending on outside influences to work things in your favour. You are too determined and a winner in what you do. You will succeed to get what you want out of your life. Be happy and content with what you decide.

Leave a Reply

